Area Government

Athens Area Chamber Of Commerce 


The population of Athens has now surpassed 13,000 and suburban development continues to spring up in outlying areas. Nestled at the foothills of the Smokies and convenient to the Ocoee and Hiwassee rivers, outdoor recreation has always been a major form of entertainment for Athenians.

Closer to home, the Athens Regional Park anchors the city’s recreational activities, while the recently-renovated Veterans Memorial Park (formerly Sunset Park) is now the city’s premiere park.

The city of Athens is organized by the city manager-council form of government and operates on an annual budget of about $11 million.

The elected City Council consists of five members, with one of those five selected by the Council to serve as mayor. Each Council member serves a four-year term.

The 10 main city departments each have a director or supervisor who deals with the day-to-day operations.

The hours for the general office operations are from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The departments include:

City Manager’s office – 744-2702

Finance Department – 744-2712

Purchasing – 744-2712

Police Department – 744-2730 or 911

Communications – 744-2720

Fire Department – 744-2760 or 911

Public Works – 744-2745

Community Development – 744-2750

Parks and Recreation – 744-2704

Personnel – 744-2703

The city website is


Calhoun is the oldest town in McMinn County and one of the oldest in East Tennessee.

Currently, the town is governed by a City Commission made up of a mayor and 3 Commissioners. City Commission meetings are held the first Monday of each month at 6 p.m. at the Calhoun Municipal Building. The city hall telephone number is 336-2348.


The Englewood City Commission is made up of a mayor and 4 commissioners. City Commission meetings are held at 6 p.m. the second Monday of the month at the Municipal Building. City departments can be reached at 887-7224.


Etowah started as a one-industry town but has grown over the last century to become far more than just a railroad town.

The current government – a city manager and commission form of government – is comprised of five city commissioners, including a mayor, and a city manager.

The mayor is chosen from the five members of the Commission. The phone number at City Hall is 263-2202.

McMinn County

As with other counties in Tennessee, McMinn’s government is comprised of offices established by the state Constitution and other appointed positions. There is a three-way system, such as in the federal government, of legislative, judicial and executive branches.

All of the agencies combine to serve the county’s more than 51,000 residents.

The McMinn County Commission is the legislative branch of county government comprised of 10 members who represent the five districts in the county. The panel’s primary functions are budget approval and policy-making. Members are elected to four year terms.

The Commission meets the third Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Commission Chambers in the basement floor of the McMinn County Courthouse. For more information on the McMinn County Commission call 745-7634.

The county mayor serves as chief administrator of McMinn County and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the general fund. The county mayor is elected to a four-year term. The County Mayor’s office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Courthouse. The office is located on the main floor of the Courthouse and can be reached at 745-7634. Their website is

Other County Offices:

County Clerk – 745-4440

Register of Deeds – 745-1232

Trustee – 745-1291

Property Assessor – 745-2743

Finance and Purchasing – 745-4103

Veterans Affairs – 744-1605

Election Commission – 745-0843

Emergency Preparedness – 744-5256

Highway Department – 745-1820

Sheriff – 745-5622 or 911

Within McMinn County there are several cities:


Niota has enjoyed a place in history because one of its native sons cast the tie-breaking vote in the Tennessee House of Representatives, resulting in the passage of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and giving women the right to vote.

Harry T. Burn, serving his first term in the Tennessee House of Representatives, made history in August 1920 when he was encouraged by his mother to change his vote on the ratification.

Niota, which has been incorporated since 1911, is governed by a mayor and a five-member City Commission.

Niota’s City Commission meets on the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. The city office can be reached at 568-2584.